Teen privacy guide

PRESENTATION SLIDES ODP FORMAT
PRESENTATION SLIDES PDF FORMAT

To download these resources from the GitHub link above, click “view raw”. If you have trouble, please email alison (at) libraryfreedomproject (dot) org

Know the threats:

ACLU Massachusetts ‘Protect Student Privacy’: https://aclum.org/our-work/aclum-issues/privacy/protect-student-privacy/

ACLU Massachusetts ‘Back to the Drawing Board: Student Privacy in Massachusetts K-12 Schools’: https://aclum.org/app/uploads/2015/10/back_to_the_drawing_board_report_large_file_size.pdf

EFF’s Report ‘Spying on Students’: https://www.eff.org/issues/student-privacy/

Ditch bad tech:

EFF Secure Messaging Scorecard (please note: Telegram and Cryptocat are not safe): https://www.eff.org/secure-messaging-scorecard

Some surveillance issues with social media: http://www.alternet.org/civil-liberties/how-nypd-uses-facebook-surveil-entrap-and-arrest-teenagers

http://animalnewyork.com/2012/the-department-of-homeland-security-is-searching-your-facebook-and-twitter-for-these-words/

Use good tech:

Signal: https://whispersystems.org/

Tor browser bundle: https://www.torproject.org/projects/torbrowser.html.en

Onion Browser for iOS (not official Tor Project!): https://mike.tig.as/onionbrowser/

Orweb for Android (Tor browser): https://guardianproject.info/apps/orweb/

Orbot for Android (Tor proxy): https://guardianproject.info/apps/orbot

NoScript (comes bundled in Tor Browser): https://noscript.net/

Privacy Badger https://www.eff.org/privacybadger

uBlock Origin: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/ublock-origin/

Creating passwords: https://libraryfreedomproject.org/strongpassphrases/

Diceware word list: http://world.std.com/~reinhold/diceware.wordlist.asc

1Password: https://1password.com/

KeePassX: https://www.keepassx.org/

OSX FileVault: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204837

Windows Device Encryption and Bitlocker: http://www.howtogeek.com/234826/how-to-enable-full-disk-encryption-on-windows-10/

Android: https://source.android.com/security/encryption/

iOS: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202064

Ricochet (chat): https://ricochet.im/

Extra credit

NYCLU Teen Activist Project: http://www.nyclu.org/issues/youth-and-student-rights/teen-activist-project

ACLU: https://www.aclu.org/know-your-rights

EFF: https://www.eff.org/

The Tor Project: https://www.torproject.org/

CryptoParty: https://cryptoparty.is/

More LFP resources: https://libraryfreedomproject.org/resources/

Data and Goliath by Bruce Schneier: https://www.schneier.com/books/data_and_goliath/

Dragnet Nation by Julia Angwin: http://juliaangwin.com/dragnet-nation-available-now/

Little Brother by Cory Doctorow: http://craphound.com/littlebrother/download/

The Circle by Dave Eggers: https://www.powells.com/biblio/9780385351393